2019 Australasian HIV&AIDS Conference
2019 Australasian HIV&AIDS Conference

Keynote Speakers

We are pleased to announce the following keynote speakers will be presenting at the conference – More to confirmed to be confirmed shortly!

International SpeakerBiography
Professor Sharon Cameron MD, FRCOG, MFSRH
Consultant Gynaecologist, Chalmers Centre and the Royal Infirmary of Edinburgh and Professor (Hon) University of Edinburgh. She is Clinical Lead for Sexual Health Services in NHS Lothian. She is Co- director of Clinical Effectiveness Unit (Faculty of Sexual and Reproductive Healthcare). Her international roles include member of the Steering committee of World Health Organization Medical Eligibility Criteria for Contraceptive Use, President of International Federation of Abortion and Contraception Professionals (FIAPAC), and deputy chair of the Internal Scientific Committee of the European Society for contraception. She has over 20 years of clinical research experience in field of contraception and sexual and reproductive health.
Dr. Jason Farley
Dr. Jason Farley is an Associate Professor at Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing and a nurse practitioner in the Division of Infectious Diseases at Johns Hopkins Medicine. Dr. Farley’s portfolio of research includes the development of multi-component interventions designed to improve the HIV treatment and prevention cascade of care which extends to interventions for patients with HIV and TB co-infection. Through innovative technological solutions, improvements and advancement of task-sharing approaches, or nurse and/or peer case management interventions, Dr. Farley’s work has a large clinical impact. He presently leads The Johns Hopkins HIV Prevention Trials Network (HPTN) within the School of Medicine and is the Founder of The REACH Initiative of Johns Hopkins University School of Nursing. He also directs the DNP/PhD Clinical Research Scientist Program. He is the immediate past President of the Association of Nurses in AIDS Care (ANAC), the world's largest HIV focused nursing organization.
Professor Adeeba Kamarulzaman
Professor Adeeba Kamarulzaman graduated from Monash University and trained in internal medicine and infectious diseases in Melbourne, Australia. She is presently the Dean of the Faculty of Medicine, University of Malaya and an Adjunct Associate Professor at Yale University, USA.
Her research effort focuses on HIV amongst key populations especially among people who use drugs. She is presently a member of the WHO Expert Advisory Panel on Health Science & Technology Policy, is President-Elect of the International AIDS Society and a member of the UNAIDS Scientific Expert Panel on HIV and TREAT Asia.
Professor Kamarulzaman was the first recipient of the Australian Advance Global Award in the category of Alumni in 2012 and in April 2015 she received a Doctor of Laws (honoris causa) from her alma mater, Monash University for her achievements in medicine and as a health advocate.
Richard Parker
Richard Parker is Professor Emeritus of Sociomedical Sciences and Anthropology and a member of the Committee on Global Thought at Columbia University in New York City and Senior Visiting Professor in the Institute for the Study of Collective Health at the Federal University of Rio de Janeiro. He is also the Director and President of the Brazilian Interdisciplinary AIDS Association (ABIA), a leading non-governmental AIDS organization in Brazil, as well as founder and Co-Chair of Sexuality Policy Watch, a global coalition of researchers, policymakers and activists and Editor-in-Chief of Global Public Health. He has conducted research in Brazil since the early 1980s, as well as comparative studies in Vietnam, South Africa, and the USA on inequality, stigma, and discrimination, the politics of global health and the role of social movements responding to key public health challenges. He is the author of more than scholarly 250 publications.
Local SpeakerBiography
Dr David Speers
Dr David Speers is an ID Physician, Sir Charles Gairdner Hospital, Chair of Microbiology, PathWest Laboratory Medicine WA and Clinical Associate Professor for the Department of Medicine, University of WA. He is a fellow of the Royal Australasian College of Physicians, the Royal College of Pathologists of Australasia, and the Australasian College of Tropical Medicine.